Prof. Garvin Percy DIAS

Prof. Garvin Percy DIAS

Associate Professor of Business Education, Information Systems

Academic qualification

  • PhD Fudan University, Shanghai, China


  • Associate Professor of Business Education of ISOM, HKUST, 2012-present
  • Adjunct Associate Professor of ISOM, HKUST, 2007-2012
  • Visiting Assistant Professor of ISMT, Hong Kong University of Science and Technology (HKUST), 2000-2007
  • Visiting Scholar of ISMT, Hong Kong University of Science and Technology (HKUST), 1999-2000


  • BBA-IS Undergraduate Program Coordinator, 2001-present
  • Member, Committee on Undergraduate Program (CUP), Business School, 2001-present
  • Faculty advisor for BBA-IS students, 2001-present
  • Career advisor for BBA-IS students, 2001-present
  • Teaching mentor, Business School, 2009-present
  • Chair, BBA-IS Student-Staff Liaison Committee, 2001-present
  • Project Manager for BBA-IS program, OBE Steering Group, Business School, 2010-present
  • Academic Advocate for Information Systems Audit and Control Association (ISACA), 2007-present
  • Director and Regional Instructor of Cisco Network Academy Program Regional Academy in HKUST, 2001-present
  • Deputy Chair, BBA-IS UG committee, ISOM Department, 2011
  • Member, BBA-IS UG committee, 2001-2010
  • Member, Critical Thinking Assessment project, Business School, 2010
  • Member, QA Task Force - BBA-IS program, 2009
  • OBE Pioneer for Business School, 2009
  • Member, Selection Committee for the University Teaching Innovation Award, 2007
  • Developed the ISACA model curriculum for the BBA-IS program, 2007
  • Member, 334 Steering Group, Business School, 2006-2008
  • Judge, Citigroup International Case Final Competition, Business School, 2006
  • Developed an alignment with the Cisco Network Academy Program, 2000


  • Winner, Michael G. Gale Medal for Distinguished Teaching 2016
  • Winner, Franklin Prize for Teaching Excellence - 2010; Winter/Spring 2005-2006; Winter/Spring 2000-2001
  • Runner up, Franklin Prize for Teaching Excellence - 2009; Fall 2005; Fall 2004; Fall 2000
  • Winner, Best Ten Lecturers Election - 2003-2004; 2002-2003
  • Nominee, University Teaching Innovation Award - 2004